Cafeteria Cookie Oats

Posted on July 25, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

Hey you!            …. and you …and you! Well, that pretty much covers all of you that actually read my blog !   JK…I hope 🙂 

Check out Lesly’s blog for a delicious 100th post giveaway!

Take a look at Julie’s Jammin’ giveaway too!

What a wild week!  On Thursday, I had to forego the meetings that I have been attending for my new project because Mallard had to leave town for work.  I couldn’t leave Snuffy at the babysitter’s house until 9:30PM…I just couldn’t do it.  But, Mallard HAD to go.  He was called to work on a major undergoing and was personally requested by his boss’s boss!  For 26 (27 on July 28!) years old, he is doing well at impressing the company.  Unfortunately, the economy is a bummer so we don’t exactly see the benefits of that hard work.  Anyway, he is out for four days.  So, Snuffy and I will have some girl time.  I think this will mean DIY pedicures!

Until Thursday, this week was pretty much run-of-the-mill. 

I had LOTS of Hugh Jass Salads!

 

0723091832a

 

This one consisted of steamed carrots, cauliflower and brocolli, fresh baby spinach, ripe grape tomatoes, cubed cucumber,  a light, homemade balsamic dressing….

and these

ServeImage

Yes, I have an addiction to fake meat products.  I try to keep it to a purchasing minimum and I do check ingredient lists diligently. 

In fact, here is the ingredient list for these little lovelies:

Ingredients:

VEGGIE CHIK’N (WATER, SOY PROTEIN ISOLATE, WHEAT GLUTEN, NATURAL FLAVOR, AUTOLYZED YEAST EXTRACT, EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, SALT, COLOR ADDED, PEA PROTEIN, CARROT FIBER, VITAMIN B1 [THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE], VITAMIN B2 [RIBOFLAVIN], NIACINAMIDE, VITAMIN B6 [PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE], VITAMIN B12, CALCIUM PANTOTHENATE, IRON [FERRIC ORTHOPHOSPHATE], ZINC OXIDE, MAGNESIUM OXIDE, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE), SEASONING (DEHYDRATED GARLIC AND ONION, SALT, MALTODEXTRIN, BLACK PEPPER, DEHYDRATED GREEN AND RED BELL PEPPER, EVAPORATED CANE JUICE, NATURAL FLAVOR), EXPELLER PRESSED CANOLA OIL.

I have also been making lotsa messes…
0724090222
This mess was ANYTHING but pretty…yet, it was pretty tasty!  It had plain oikos, honey, a lil unsweetened vanilla almond milk ( I wanted it soupy), a very cherry fruit cup ( I am using up the last of these and then, sadly, not buyin them again due to the HFCS),
 
and some of this crunchy love
 
medium
 
Honey Almond Flax…my very favorite flavor! 
 
 
This yogurt mess combo was so good I ate two bowls!  Yum!
 
 
 
 
I also mixed up an old favorite…
 
 
0723090100
 
 
 
CAFETERIA COOKIE OATS!
 
I just like the texture combo with the yogurt.  It’s warm and chewy vs. cool and creamy…
 

1/4 cup  old fashioned oats ( I used 365 organic) cooked in 1 cup of water and 1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract. 
 
I cook these for 4 minutes total in the microwave.   You will most likely  have to re-check to be sure they don’t boil over.  Just stir and cook in 1 minute intervals if need be.
 
Then,  add 1 frozen banana semi-defrosted.  Stir it in and cook for another 3o seconds to 1 minute.  This all depends on how mushy you prefer your banana…
 
I then add
 
0723090031
 
 
About 1/2 TBS unsweetened cocoa powder…I usually use my 1/2 tsp as a “scooper” and use 3 “scoops”
Stir well!   It may take a few seconds to incorporate.
 
 
 
Next
 
 
0723090051
 
0723090051a
 
Stir in a GREAT BIG scoop of this guy!
 
Mmm….They taste just like the CHOCOLATE PB NO-BAKE COOKIES from my High School Cafeteria! I always loved those!
 
 
 
I like to top mine off  with this
 
 
0723090055
 
 
 
Of course the yogurt is *optional*
 
0723090100
 
 

 
 
Snuffy, on the other hand, has been teething and on a bit of a cheesey kick
 
0723091832
 
 
 Snuffy’s Signature Grilled Cheese made with Horizon Organic American Cheese, Earth Balance and Arnold’s Whole Wheat bread
 
 
And of course, her Earth’s Best cheese crackers
 
 
 
0724091852
 
 
Oh, Elmo, I suppose you CAN be a lil cheesey sometimes!
 
 
 
So, the cafeteria cookie oats are one of my favorites because of the memories that are summoned by those delicious no-bake cookies. 

 

Do you remember your favorite cafeteria food from High School?

 

 

 
 
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

12 Responses to “Cafeteria Cookie Oats”

RSS Feed for Whole Body Love Comments RSS Feed

o.m.g. those cookie oats look delicious! i bought Dark Chocolate Dreams once and loved it so much that i never bought it again. lol ya know what i mean? i just couldn’t restrain myself!

Oh my goodness, I totally remember those no-bake cookies! I would always make them as a kid since they didn’t require the oven 😉

Yum, that oatmeal sounds delicious!

I used to eat pizza in the high school cafeteria every single day. All of my friends did too. I can’t believe we never got tired of it.

I love the idea of the cafeteria cookie oats- they look so nice and chocolate filled 😉 My husband was on travel for work this week too! Hope you two enjoyed your girly time. My high school caf use to make these giant chocolate chip cookies that were out of this world

I’ve never heard of cafeteria cookie oats! I love the recipe though, it’s something easy that I would try. When I was in middle school we used to be able to leave for lunch because thre were two great places to eat right next to our school. We had to order, then bring the food back to the cafeteria. I’ll never forget what I used to order; A Walking Taco. It’s a bag of Frito’s with homemade chili on top, with a huge mound of cheddar cheese. It was DEEELICIOUS!

Oh my goodness those oats look so yummy!!

I used to always like the school’s chicken nuggets and frozen fruit bars! haha

Yum!! Your cookies look awesome! We got to leave for lunch in high school (awesome!) but in middle school I had 5 oval-shaped chicken nuggets and a baked potato every. single. day. haha

what fabulous eats! those cookies sound AMAZING! can we see pics of the finished product?? yummy!!!!!!!

i never ate cafeteria food in highschool but when i was a lil tyke in elementary school i loved the jello with whipped cream– and also the pizza sticks 🙂 ooo i miss being a kid sometimes hehe xoxoox

totally just bookmarked this post because those oats are rocking!

I am totally going to be trying out a version of this oatmeal this morning. I dont have the chocolate PB so I am going to have to make my own but I think it will work. I love those no bake pb cookie bars. Yum!

Wow – I want to make those oats!! I guess I first need the PB.

I love the Dark Chocolate Dreams – they make everything better 🙂


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Whole Disclaimer

    Please understand that I am not a physician or Registered Dietician. Yet, I have learned about health, nutrition and wellness through my own experiences with physicians and RD's. For serious health concerns, please contact your physician. For friendly, knowledgeable advice, contact me at jennarosew@gmail.com.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

